Categories: SoftwareTechnology

Facebook violates another user privacy matter

The more news comes of how Facebook invaded user privacy, the more people quit the forum. Facebook recently came forward with the news that it began logging the text messages and phone calls of its users before it explicitly notified them of its practice. This is in contradiction to the company’s earlier claims that “uploading this information has always been opt-in only”.

In at least one previous version of the Messenger app, Facebook only told users that the setting would enable them to “send and receive SMS in Messenger”, and presented the option to users without an obvious way to opt out: the prompt offered a big blue button reading “OK”, and a much smaller grey link to “settings”.

Nowhere in the opt-in dialogue was it made clear that text histories would be uploaded to Facebook’s servers and stored indefinitely

Other users have similarly disputed ever seeing explicit notification from Facebook that their communication logs would be uploaded. Sean Gallagher, a writer for Ars Technica, had never installed Messenger, and maintains that “there was never an explicit message requesting access to phone call and SMS data” in any version of Facebook he installed, yet discovered that his call metadata had been uploaded.

Last week, some Facebook users who were prompted to download their data in advance of deleting their accounts were shocked to find that they contained detailed logs of all calls and SMS messages they had sent with their phones, even if they didn’t use Facebook applications to make or receive phone calls or texts.

In response, Facebook issued a “Fact Check”, in which the company repeatedly noted “people have to expressly agree to use this feature” and “uploading this information has always been opt-in only”. But the vast majority of the post is written in the present tense, and the example disclaimer Facebook posts – which does explicitly say the app will “continuously upload … your call and text history” – was only introduced in 2016, a year after the feature was initially introduced.

The “Fact Check” did not acknowledge that in the past, different notification screens have been used, including ones that did not warn users that call and text history would be uploaded.

Read: Will Huawei beat everyone to the first foldable phone?

Image via yahoo

Recent Posts

Mouse for MMO players: Razer’s new Naga V3 Pro is a button monster

Razer is launching a new MMO mouse with the Naga V3 Pro. Three magnetic side…

10 hours ago

Surface Phone: New images show discarded Microsoft prototype

It's an open secret that Microsoft was working on a Windows Phone smartphone long before…

10 hours ago

How Solar Carport Structures Are Changing the Future of Sustainable Energy Infrastructure

As the demand for renewable energy continues to grow, businesses, municipalities, and property owners are…

11 hours ago

What to do to find the right family law support in your case.

Family law issues seldom come at an opportune moment. Divorce, separation, parenting conflicts, child support,…

11 hours ago

Claude AI data leak: Private chats were freely accessible on Google

Due to an insufficiently protected sharing function, private chat logs from the Anthropic AI Claude…

1 day ago

Mark Zuckerberg’s megayacht Launchpad ignored calls for help off Alaska

Mark Zuckerberg's $300 million superyacht ignored or allegedly did not hear a call for help…

1 day ago