Home » Technology » Games » Pakistan Legend Cricketers to Take Part in the Ice Cricket Tournament

Pakistan Legend Cricketers to Take Part in the Ice Cricket Tournament

The Pakistani Cricket Legends like Wasim Akram, Shoaib Akhtar, Shahid Afridi and Abdul Razzaq are to participate in the annual St Moritz Ice Cricket Tournament along with the other former cricketers. The tournament is to be held in Switzerland on the 8th and 9th of February.

The two-team T20 tournament would be held in the Swiss Alps. The pitch would be laid and stretched out on the snowfield. It would consist of an artificial turf carpet.

Also Read: Two Indian Cricketers Participating in Pakistan’s Zalmi League

Teams Royals and Badrutt’s Palace Diamonds have included many former cricket megastars from across the world for competing in the event.

The Royals team consists of the legendary cricket stars from Pakistan, England, South Africa and New Zealand while the second team Badrutt’s Palace Diamonds team consists of the renown iconic players from Sri Lanka, India, West Indies and Australia.

Waseem Akram would be taking part in the tournament as a mentor, while Shoaib Akhtar, Abdul Razzaq, and Shahid Afridi would be joining the Royals squad.

Ice Cricket Tournament is not new, ice cricket has been played for twenty years in St Moritz, however, this is the first time ever that the tournament would be featuring the legendary cricketers as participants from across the world.

The St Moritz lake freezes in winters into an extremely thick layer of ice which is then covered with soft falling snow. This entire procedure enables the lake to hold more than two hundred tons of weight, which makes it a perfect spot for sports.

Akhtar tweeted expressing his excitement about the upcoming event and wrote that he would be playing the iconic match on the 8th and 9th of Feb.

The complete team squad details are as under:

Team Royals

Afridi’s XI

  1. Jacques Kallis (South Africa)
  2. Graeme Smith (South Africa)
  3. Owais Shah (England)
  4. Matt Prior (England)
  5. Monty Panesar (England)
  6. Grant Elliott (New Zealand)
  7. Nathan McCullum (New Zealand)
  8. Daniel Vettori (New Zealand)
  9. Aidan Andrews (Switzerland)
  10. Shoaib Akhtar (Pakistan)
  11. Abdul Razzaq (Pakistan)
  12. Shahid Afridi (Pakistan)

Team Badrutt’s Palace Diamonds

Sehwag’s XI

  1. Virender Sehwag (India)
  2. Mithun Manhas (India)
  3. Mohammad Kaif (India)
  4. Ajit Agarkar (India)
  5. Ramesh Powar (India)
  6. Zaheer Khan (India)
  7. Michael Hussey (Australia)
  8. Andrew Symonds (Australia)
  9. Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)
  10. Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka)
  11. Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka)
  12. Rohan Jain (Switzerland)

More Read: Footballs Made in Pakistan Will be Used in FIFA World Cup 2018